Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

wpid-IMG_20131223_154145.jpg

When I went to after school care as a little girl I’d often tell people that I hated raisins and that raisins in my chocolate chip cookies were the reason I had trust issues. To be fair, I was a really imaginative child. I think I even had an imaginary friend for a while with whom I ate said cookies and discussed the crispness of tortilla chips and how much I loved the color purple. Really, it was all in my head; a result of infantile peer pressure to like what the ‘normal’ kids liked, who consequently bullied me pretty ‘normally’ during lunch when I’d take out risotto instead of a grilled cheese or a pb&j. I remember them jeering at me, calling me ‘weirdo’ and ‘freak’, picking up my plastic containers and throwing them around. For a while, every lunch hour ended with me in tears, regrettably eating my food next to one of the supervisors.

At one point, I can’t remember when, I just stopped caring. I stopped asking my mom to pack me lunchables and started taking even weirder things to school than seafood and eating them with such nonchalance that my bullies stopped finding me interesting. Sure, I still at the hotdogs and the neon yellow cheddar and the nachos, but i also ate my octopus risotto and chicken heart stew. I stopped pretending that I hated black olives like everyone else and embraced my love of prunes, Brussel spouts and broiled octopus. My ‘denial’ phase? Over. I also broke the news that relish and yellow mustard made me sick. I hated them both. Jiffy peanut butter too. Although I must admit I’m an loyal fan of organic salty peanut butter now. Raisins? better than chocolate chips I proclaimed!  My transformation into ‘weird foreign girl’ was complete. Did I care? not an ounce. And I haven’t started caring since. Uni? bone marrow? Come to me my loves.

This is my favorite Oatmeal Raisin cookie recipe. It comes from an incredible chef called David Lebovitz whom I admire for his wit and recipes. I have several of his books and they’re all well written, funny and full of delicious recipes! check his website out here: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/

I stayed true to his recipe for the most part, only adding a little extra fibre with a couple tbsp of chia seeds and adding a tbsp of ginger to the mix. These are truly wonderful cookies, perfect for dunking in coffee or tea and for sandwiching vanilla icecream. I also love to crumble them up in my cereal for an extra decadent breakfast. Holiday-wise, they are a Kahlua or Baileys cocktail’s best friend.

wpid-IMG_20131224_013133.jpg

Ingredients:

1 cup (225 g) unsalted butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup (150 g) granulated sugar
1 cup (200 g) packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 3/4 cup (245 g) flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour + 3 tbsp of chia seeds)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I added 1 tbsp of freshly ground ginger too)
1 3/4 cup (175 g) old –fashioned rolled oats (not instant or quick-cooking)
1 1/2 cups (240 g) raisins

How to:

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugars until very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

2. Meanwhile in a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon, making sure there are no lumps of baking soda. Stir in the oats and raisins.

3. Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat until thoroughly combined. On low speed, or by hand, gradually add the flour and oat mixture to the creamed butter, mixing until completely incorporated.

4. Chill the batter a few hours or overnight, covered. (This step is optional, although recommended by the author.)

5. To bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350ºF (180ºC). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

6. Drop the dough in 1/4 cup (50 g) balls evenly spaced on the baking sheet and flatten the tops slightly with your hand.

(I got about 8 cookies per baking sheet.)

7. Midway during baking, rotate the baking sheet and tap the tops of the cookies down somewhat firmly with a spatula to flatten the domes.

8. Bake the cookies for 20 to 22 minutes, until they just start to turn brown across the top, but do not overbake.

Leave a Reply

