Sesame lady fingers

wpid-IMG_20131207_111305.jpg

I’ve baked multiple variations of sesame cookies in my life and save a couple that I burned by accident in my hyperactive oven, I’ve loved every batch. Tahini is to me is what peanut butter is to most. I love it. Like, a lot. When I make a lot of hummus and there’s only a bit tahini left in the jar I usually mix in some honey and just eat that with a spoon. Sometimes, usually when I’m home alone or with people who don’t care about things like etiquette and decorum, I use my fingers instead, feeling my way into every nook and cranny of the jar. Which leads me to confess a slightly odd quirk of mine – one that has made my parents shake their heads from the moment I started eating solid foo, namely – if I can use my hands to eat it – I’ll do exactly that. Don’t even ask if I want a fork and knife – I don’t.  Naturally, because of this, my hands are constantly dirty, sticky or oily, leaving tracks wherever they go.  Yes, I’m a slob, a blissfully messy 21 year old slob.

Cookies, gloriously enough, fit into the category of things I can eat with my hands without being judged. This recipe yields by far, the best sesame cookies I’ve ever made or tasted in my life. So good, even the most sophisticated diner I know can’t help but shove them directly into their face, leaving behind buttery golden crumbs as evidence.

wpid-IMG_20131207_161942.jpg

Ingredients:

2 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup sunflower oil

1/4 cup cream

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cardamom

1 egg, seperated

sesame seeds to coat

egg wash from 1 whole egg to coat

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 178 c. Line large  baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Mix whole wheat flour with baking powder in a small bowl. In a larger bowl, stir together the oil, cream, brown sugar, spices and egg yolk, leaving the white for later use, until thoroughly combined.
  3. Slowly start stirring flour mixture into wet mixture until it resembles a thick dough. If it isn’t thick enough to be picked up and rolled into a ball, add more flour.
  4. Pick up little balls of the very soft dough, shaping them into lady-fingers with your hands. Depending on the size of your balls, you’ll either end up with 14 or 12 fingers.  Brush them with egg wash from a whole egg, dip them in sesame and lay on sheet with a little distance between each cookie.
  5. Bake for about 30 minutes or cookies are a little cracked and golden on top.
  6. Cool and serve with coffee or tea.
Leave a Reply

