Chocolate Zucchini Cake with dried cherries & cinnamon

 

I think I’ve just found the holy grail of zucchini cakes. Truly.  I feel like Indiana Jones, except instead of a gun I’m armed with a spatula and instead of a suit I’m wearing a polka-dot apron. Oh, and I have no hand-eye coordination to speak of, so,  catching that flying dagger or saving the crown jewels? not very likely. This cake however, is good enough to make me feel as if I’ve just saved the world. Better yet? It’s so much healthier than any other zucchini cake I’ve ever come across! Honestly, this cake is ridiculously good. Too good almost. You won’t come across anything sweeter, gooier or more decadent. Promise.
I based the recipe on Baltic Maid’s Zucchini brownies but significantly lowered the sugar and changed the ingredients around to suit what i had in my kitchen. http://www.balticmaid.com/2011/08/healthy-zucchini-brownies/

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1 tbsp Kahlua (or espresso)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup mild oil (I used sunflower)

1/4 cup cherry jam

2 tbsp truvia, splenda or raw sugar

1 cup whole-wheat flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp cinnamon

2 cups zucchini, finely grated

1 cup dark chocolate, chopped roughly (60% or more)

1/4 cup dried cherries (or cranberries)

How to:

  1. Preheat the oven to  175°C, Grease a brownie pan of about 20X20 cm
  2. In a large bowl, beat all wet ingredients until combined. Then, in another bowl, combine all dry ingredients save zucchini, chopped chocolate and cherries
  3. Combine the two mixtures slowly, folding to incorporate
  4. Fold in cherries, zucchini and chocolate chips, making sure that no green from the zucchini is visible
  5. Bake for about 36 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out easily and the cake springs back to touch (it will be quite soft when it comes out)
  6. Let cool and eat with vanilla ice-cream and cherry sauce
Leave a Reply

